0
research-article

AERODYNAMIC EFFECTS OF TIE-BOSS IN EXTREMELY LONG TURBINE BLADES

[+] Author and Article Information
Tomas Radnic

Institute of Thermomechanics of The Czech Academy of Sciences, Dolejškova 26, Prague, 182 00, Czech Republic
radnic@it.cas.cz

Jindrich Hala

Institute of Thermomechanics of The Czech Academy of Sciences, Dolejškova 26, Prague, 182 00, Czech Republic
hala@it.cas.cz

Martin Luxa

Institute of Thermomechanics of The Czech Academy of Sciences, Dolejškova 26, Prague, 182 00, Czech Republic
luxa@it.cas.cz

David Simurda

Institute of Thermomechanics of The Czech Academy of Sciences, Dolejškova 26, Prague, 182 00, Czech Republic
simurda@it.cas.cz

Jiri Furst

CTU in Prague, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Dept. of Technical Mathematics, Karlovo nám. 13, Prague, 121 35, Czech Republic
jiri.furst@fs.cvut.cz

Dan Hasnedl

Doosan Skoda Power Co. Ltd., Tylova 1/57, Pilsen, 301 28, Czech Republic
dan.hasnedl@doosan.com

Josef Kellner

Doosan Skoda Power Co. Ltd., Tylova 1/57, Pilsen, 301 28, Czech Republic
josef.kellner@doosan.com

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4040093 History: Received June 16, 2017; Revised February 19, 2018

Abstract

Focus of this paper is aerodynamic investigation of tie-boss stabilization devices for extremely long rotor blades. This investigation covered measurements on multiple blade cascades and CFD simulation of the flow past these cascades. Conclusions were drawn from results of the measurements and CFD and from the knowledge of prior investigation of the used blade cascade. Main focus of this paper is to describe influence of a tie-boss stabilization device on flow field in interblade channel. Tie-boss with more massive shape proved to cause lesser losses, while tie-boss with a tailored trailing edge showed lesser influence on flow turning.

Copyright (c) 2018 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In