0
research-article

Measurements of periodic Reynolds stress oscillations in a forced turbulent premixed swirling flame

[+] Author and Article Information
Christopher M Douglas

Ben T. Zinn Combustion Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
cmdouglas@gatech.edu

Jamie Lim

Ben T. Zinn Combustion Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
jlim65@gatech.edu

Travis Smith

Ben T. Zinn Combustion Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
tsmith64@gatech.edu

Benjamin Emerson

Ben T. Zinn Combustion Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
bemerson@gatech.edu

Tim Lieuwen

Ben T. Zinn Combustion Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
tim.lieuwen@aerospace.gatech.edu

Naibo Jiang

Spectral Energies, LLC, Dayton, Ohio, USA
naiboj@yahoo.com

Christopher Fugger

Spectral Energies, LLC, Dayton, Ohio, USA
chris.fugger@spectralenergies.com

Tongxun Yi

Spectral Energies, LLC, Dayton, Ohio, USA
tongxun.yi@spectralenergies.com

Josef Felver

Spectral Energies, LLC, Dayton, Ohio, USA
josef.felver@spectralenergies.com

Sukesh Roy

Spectral Energies, LLC, Dayton, Ohio, USA
sukesh.roy@spectralenergies.com

James R. Gord

Air Force Research Laboratory, Aerospace Systems Directorate, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio, USA
james.gord@us.af.mil

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4040686 History: Received June 22, 2018; Revised June 25, 2018

Abstract

This work is motivated by the thermoacoustic instability challenges associated with ultra-low emissions gas turbine combustors. It demonstrates the first use of high-speed dual-plane orthogonally-polarized stereoscopic-particle image velocimetry and synchronized OH planar laser-induced fluorescence in a premixed swirling flame. We use this technique to explore the effects of combustion and longitudinal acoustic forcing on the time- and phase-averaged flow field - particularly focusing on the behavior of the Reynolds stress in the presence of harmonic forcing. We observe significant differences between ensemble averaged and time averaged Reynolds stress. This implies that the large-scale motions are non-ergodic, due to coherent oscillations in Reynolds stress associated with the convection of periodic vortical structures. This result has important implications on hydrodynamic stability models and reduced order computational fluid dynamics simulations, which do show the importance of turbulent transport on the problem, but do not capture these coherent oscillations in their models.

Copyright (c) 2018 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In