0
research-article

SOME RECENT ADVANCES IN ENGINEERING FRACTURE MODELING FOR TURBOMACHINERY

[+] Author and Article Information
R. Craig McClung

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
cmcclung@swri.org

Yi-Der Lee

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
ylee@swri.org

James Sobotka

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
james.sobotka@swri.org

Jonathan Moody

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
jonathan.moody@swri.org

Vikram Bhamidipati

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
vikram.bhamidipati@swri.org

Michael P. Enright

Southwest Research Institute, P. O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510
Michael.Enright@swri.org

D. Benjamin Guseman

Elder Research Inc., 300 W Main St #301, Charlottesville, VA 22903
guseman@elderresearch.com

Colin B. Thomas

Elder Research Inc., 300 W Main St #301, Charlottesville, VA 22903
colin.thomas@elderresearch.com

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4040901 History: Received June 26, 2018; Revised July 06, 2018

Abstract

Recent advances in practical engineering methods for fracture analysis of turbomachinery components are described. A comprehensive set of weight function stress intensity factor (SIF) solutions for elliptical and straight cracks under univariant and bivariant stress gradients has been developed and verified. Specialized SIF solutions have been derived for curved through cracks, cracks at chamfered and angled corners, and cracks under displacement control. Automated fracture models are available to construct fatigue crack growth life contours and critical initial crack size contours for all nodal locations in 2D or 3D finite element models.

Copyright (c) 2018 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In