Energy in East Europe Through 1980

[+] Author and Article Information
V. V. Strishkov, G. Markon

The US Bureau of Mines, Division of Fossil Fuels, Coal, Washington, D. C.

Z. E. Murphy

Branch of Coal, The US Bureau of Mines, Division of Fossil Fuels, Coal, Washington, D. C.

J. Eng. Power 96(3), 292-306 (Jul 01, 1974) (15 pages) doi:10.1115/1.3445808 History: Received August 15, 1973; Online July 14, 2010


Eastern Europe is the world’s largest and most tightly knit multinational economic bloc. It is largest in population although its per capita energy output and industrial production lag considerably behind that of other industrial countries. Originally comprised of eight Soviet satelite states welded together by a common political-economic system patterned after that of the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe now includes Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, and Romania, which are members of the SEV (Soviet Ekonomicheskoy Vzaimopomoshchi, known as Comecon-Council for Mutual Economic Assistance), a highly integrated multinational group. Albania and Yugoslavia, both socialist economies of widely divergent philosophies, are not members of the SEV, although Yugoslavia’s specific status is defined by agreement formalized in 1964. The agreement laid the foundation for Yugoslav participation within the group (it has observer status in half of the Comecon’s 24 Commissions) and cooperation.

Copyright © 1974 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.





Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In